

# Information Technology Executive Council Regular Meeting of the ITEC Board

# **MINUTES**

June 18, 2024

The Regular Meeting of the ITEC Board was held on June 18, 2024, virtually using Microsoft Teams. This meeting was properly noticed and posted in the Kansas Public Square prior to the meeting. https://publicsquare.ks.gov/

#### **Board Members:**

Present unless otherwise noted

Jeff Maxon, Executive Branch CITO (Chair)
Kelly O'Brien, Judicial Branch CITO
Tom Day, Interim Legislative Branch CITO [Absent]
Rep. Emil Bergquist, House Representative #1[Absent]
Rep. Pam Curtis, House Representative #2 [Absent]
Senator J.R. Claeys, Senate Representative #1 [Absent]
Senator Jeff Pittman, Senate Representative #2 [Absent]
Adam Proffitt, Cabinet Agency Head #1 [Absent]
Amber Shultz, Cabinet Agency Head #2

Adrian Guerrero, Non-Cabinet Agency Head #1
Lynn Retz, Non-Cabinet Agency Head #2
David Marshall, KCJIS [Absent]
Greg Gann, County Representative
Mike Mayta, City Representative
Murray McGee, Information Network of Kansas
Steve Funk, Board of Regents
John Berghuis, Private Sector Representative
Alex Wong, Chief Information Technology Architect

THIS MEETING IS IN COMPLIANCE WITH KSA 75-7202 AND AMENDMENTS THERETO.

## Public attendees, that signed in.

Abraham, Mark [OITS]
Burns, Hope [OITS]
Canfield, DJ [OITS]
Denning, Allie [OITS]
Errebo, Benjamin [HS-EBIT]
Harmon, Ken [WSU]
Heffel, Tanya [OITS]
Hildebrandt, Jason [OITS]
Godfrey, John [OITS]

Holley, Jamie [OITS]
Knapp, Daniel [OITS]
Kunst, Nathaniel [OITS]
Martin, Isaiah [OITS]
McKenzie, Rocky [OITS]
Neal, Jamie [OITS]
Patterson, Duane [OITS]
Polston, Douglas [ESU]

Ramirez, Celena (OITS)
Rodriguez, Paul [KSFM]
Spinks, Sara [OITS]
Tolbert, Eric [OITS]
Venerdi, Luke [OITS]
Spinks, Sara [OITS]
Whyrick, Jess [OITS]
Williams, Jeff [OITS]
Womochil, Howard [OITS]

# **WELCOME / CHAIRMAN COMMENTS**

Jeff Maxon, E-CITO called the meeting into order at 1:30pm.

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

Jeff Maxon, E-CITO introduced the March 19, minutes for discussion. Kelly O'Brien, J-CITO moved to approve the minutes. Steve Funk seconded the motion. The motion passed.

#### **ACTION ITEM STATUS**

Alex Wong, CITA reported no action items.

## **ADVISORY BOARD UPDATES/EDUCATION SEGMENT:**

Jeff Maxon, Executive Branch CITO, presented an update from the May 21, Information Technology Advisory Board (ITAB).

No update was provided due to changes to ITEC from Senate Bill 291.

#### **PRESENTATIONS - DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION**

Jeff Maxon, presented Changes to ITEC per House Substitute for Senate Bill 291:

- Senate Bill 291 proposed changes to IT governance and cybersecurity requirements for all three branches of government. The bill removed the legislative and judicial CIOs and their responsibilities to abide by Information Technology Executive Council (ITEC) provisions. The executive branch CITO will now permanently chair ITEC.
- Membership and meeting cadence changes: voting membership was reduced from 17 to 13, legislative and
  judicial members become non-voting, two additional members from the Board of Regents Institutions will
  become voting members.
- ITEC will meet monthly instead of quarterly meetings.
- ITEC's new duties include developing a plan to integrate all executive branch IT into the Office of Information
  Technology Services (OITS) and cybersecurity services for state educational institutions into the Kansas
  Information Security office (KISO). The plan must be reported to the legislature by January 15, 2026. If the plan
  does not meet legislative expectations, there is a sunset provision to revert to the current state. The timeline for
  plan development and implementation is yet to be determined.

#### **COMMENTS FROM BOARD MEMBERS**

Mike Mayta asked about having a timeline for the draft of the plan to submit to the legislature. Jeff Maxon clarified that there likely will be a need to report progress to the Joint Committee on Information Technology (JCIT).

Adrian Guerrero asked about term of appointments for ITEC. Jeff Maxon responded that the appointments to ITEC would still go through the Governor's office and be made according to existing timelines.

Steve Funk asked about meeting cadence and Jeff Maxon replied the first meeting will likely be in August.

#### **CLOSING REMARKS**

New Action Item Review – Alex Wong, CITA: No new action items

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Adjourned at 1:50 pm.

# **ITEC BOARD MEMBERS**



Tom Day Legislative Branch Interim CITO



Jeff Maxon Executive Branch CITO



Kelly O'Brien, Chair Judicial Branch CITO



Steve Funk Board of Regents



Lynn Retz Kansas Corporation Commission



Representative Emil Bergquist House Representative



Senator Jeff Pittman Senate Representative



Representative Pam Curtis House Representative



Senator J.R. Claeys House Representative



Adam Proffitt Dept of Administration



Adrian Guerrero Kansas Board of Nursing



Gregg Gann Sedgwick County



Mike Mayta City of Wichita



Murray McGee Information Network of Kansas (INK)



David Marshall KS Criminal Justice



Amber Shultz Kansas Department of Labor



John Berghuis Private Sector Representative



Alex Wong Office of Technology Services