

Information Technology Executive Council Regular Meeting of the ITEC Board

MINUTES

August 13, 2024

The Regular Meeting of the ITEC Board was held on August 13, 2024, virtually using Microsoft Teams. This meeting was properly noticed and posted in the Kansas Public Square prior to the meeting. https://publicsquare.ks.gov/

Board Members:

Present unless otherwise noted

Jeff Maxon, Executive Branch CITO (Chair)
Doug Polston, Regents Representative #1
Ken Harmon, Regents Representative #2
Adam Proffitt, Cabinet Agency Head #1[Absent]
Amber Shultz, Cabinet Agency Head #2
Adrian Guerrero, Non-Cabinet Agency Head #1 [Absent]
Lynn Retz, Non-Cabinet Agency Head #2

Vacant, KCJIS [Absent]
Greg Gann, County Representative
Mike Mayta, City Representative [Absent]
Murray McGee, Information Network of Kansas [Absent]
Steve Funk, Board of Regents
John Berghuis, Private Sector Representative [Absent]

Non-Voting Members:

Present unless otherwise noted

Senator J.R. Claeys, Senate Representative [Absent] Senator Jeff Pittman, Senate Representative [Absent] Representative Emil Bergquist, House Representative Representative Pam Curtis, House Representative Tom Day, Interim Legislative Branch CITO Anne Johnson, Interim Judicial Branch CITO Alex Wong, Chief Information Technology Architect

THIS MEETING IS IN COMPLIANCE WITH KSA 75-7202 AND AMENDMENTS THERETO.

Public attendees, that signed in.

Burns, Hope [OITS]
Denning, Allie [OITS]
Finney, Vince [OITS]

Heffel, Tanya [OITS] McGinnis, Erin [OITS] Ramirez, Celena [OITS]

Reiter, Brian (OITS) Robison, Cole [OITS] Spinks, Sara [OITS]

WELCOME / CHAIRMAN COMMENTS

Jeff Maxon, E-CITO, called the meeting into order at 1:30pm.

APPROVAL OF Agenda

Jeff Maxon introduced a motion to approve the agenda. Secretary Shultz, moved to approve the agenda. Greg Gann seconded the motion. The motion passed.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Jeff Maxon introduced the June 18, 2024, meeting minutes for discussion. Steve Funk, moved to approve the minutes. Secretary Shultz seconded the motion. The motion passed.

ACTION ITEM STATUS

Alex Wong, CITA, reported no action items.

STRATEGIC INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY MANAGEMENT PLAN (Sub Bill for SB291, Page 21 Sec 20. D):

Jeff Maxon presented Senate Bill 291:

- Senate bill outlines the role and requirements of the Information Technology Executive Council (ITEC) committee in planning and implementing IT consolidation within the executive branch.
- The committee will be responsible for developing a plan for consolidation and presenting reports to the legislature by January 2026.
- The committee will also set policies for the executive branch and examine cybersecurity consolidation with the Regents institutions.
- The National Institute Standards of Technology (NIST) Cybersecurity framework (version 2.0) will serve as the baseline for cybersecurity requirements for all government entities.

Jeff Maxon brought forth the idea of bringing in a third party to assist with coming up with a consolidation plan. Ken Harmon recommended the idea based on previous experience. Secretary Shultz asked for clarification about Jeff using the term planning vs assessment. Jeff Maxon said the wording in the statue was planning and that assessment would be part of the planning process. In addition to the council, other States who have gone through similar processes, could also be contacted for feedback and recommendations. Jeff Maxon put forth an action item to share the statement of work with the council when it is ready. Legal council will be consulted to determine if there may a need to discuss this information in an executive session.

POLICY AND PROCEDURES DISCUSSION

John Godfrey, CISO, presented the following policies for review:

- Access Control Policy
- Remote Access Security Policy
- Critical Vulnerability Patching Policy
- Domain Name Policy
- Telework Security Policy
- IT Enterprise Security Policy

He provided an overview of the new security policies that are being introduced. The goal of these policies is to strengthen the security of the state's information systems and align with the new cybersecurity framework. Please submit any feedback or questions on the policies via email to John Godfrey. The policies will be regularly refreshed and updated to ensure they remain effective. The policies will serve as a baseline or agencies to follow and will help to

standardize cybersecurity practices across the state. The non-voting members were also invited to provide feedback and input on the policies.

Ken Harmon asked the appropriate method to bring up questions. John Godfrey mentioned that if they are high level we can cover them here. If they are more detailed send those questions to John Godfrey via email.

Jeff Maxon commented on the cadence and process for presentation of new policies. Now that ITEC meets monthly, policies will be introduced and then discussed in the following meeting. Any comments can be submitted to John Godfrey prior to being discussed during the ITEC meeting. After discussion and updates, final action can be taken.

COMMENTS FROM BOARD MEMBERS

Board members expressed their appreciation for the committee's efforts in setting policies and addressing cybersecurity challenges. It was suggested that the policies should be flexible enough to accommodate agencies of different sizes and capabilities. The exception process was highlighted to address agencies that may struggle to comply with the policies.

CLOSING REMARKS

New Action Item Review – Alex Wong, CITA: Alex reported there was one action item.

Provide Statement of Work (SOW) for RFP of IT consolidation plan for ITEC review.

ADJOURNMENT

Jeff Maxon introduced a motion to adjourn the meeting. Secretary Shultz seconded the motion.

Adjourned at 2:05 pm.

ITEC BOARD MEMBERS



Jeff Maxon Executive Branch CITO



Doug Polston Regents Representative



Ken Harmon Regents Representative

Vacant

KS Criminal Justice



Adam Proffitt Dept of Administration



Amber Shultz Kansas Department of Labor



Adrian Guerrero Kansas Board of Nursing



Lynn Retz Kansas Corporation Commission



Greg Gann Sedgwick County



Mike Mayta City of Wichita



Murray McGee Information Network of Kansas (INK)



Steve Funk Board of Regents



John Berghuis Private Sector Representative

NON-VOTING MEMBERS



Senator J.R. Claeys Senate Representative



Senator Jeff Pittman Senate Representative



Emil Bergquist House Representative



Pam Curtis House Representative



I om Day Legislative Branch Interim CITO



Anne Madden Johnson Judicial Branch Interim CITO



Alex Wong Office of Technology Services