

Information Technology Executive Council Regular Meeting of the ITEC Board

MINUTES

October 15, 2024

The Regular Meeting of the ITEC Board was held on October 15, 2024, virtually using Microsoft Teams. This meeting was properly noticed and posted in the Kansas Public Square prior to the meeting. https://publicsquare.ks.gov/

Board Members:

Present unless otherwise noted

Jeff Maxon, Executive Branch CITO (Chair)
Doug Polston, Regents Representative #1
Ken Harmon, Regents Representative #2
Adam Proffitt, Cabinet Agency Head #1
Amber Shultz, Cabinet Agency Head #2
Adrian Guerrero, Non-Cabinet Agency Head #1
Lynn Retz, Non-Cabinet Agency Head #2

Keith Scott, KCJIS
Greg Gann, County Representative
Mike Mayta, City Representative [Absent]
Murray McGee, Information Network of Kansas
Steve Funk, Board of Regents
John Berghuis, Private Sector Representative

Non-Voting Members:

Present unless otherwise noted

Senator J.R. Claeys, Senate Representative [Absent] Senator Jeff Pittman, Senate Representative [Absent] Representative Emil Bergquist, House Representative [Absent]

Representative Pam Curtis, House Representative

Tom Day, Interim Legislative Branch CITO Anne Johnson, Interim Judicial Branch CITO Alex Wong, Chief Information Technology Architect

THIS MEETING IS IN COMPLIANCE WITH KSA 75-7202 AND AMENDMENTS THERETO.

Public attendees

Burns, Hope [OITS]
Godfrey, John [OITS]

Hildebrandt, Jason [OITS] Spinks, Sara [OITS] Ramirez, Celena (OITS) Robison, Cole [OITS]

WELCOME / CHAIRMAN COMMENTS

Jeff Maxon, E-CITO, called the meeting into order at 1:30pm.

APPROVAL OF Agenda

Jeff Maxon introduced a motion to approve the agenda. Secretary Proffitt moved to approve the agenda. Adrian Guerrero seconded the motion. The motion passed.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Jeff Maxon introduced the August 13, 2024, meeting minutes for discussion. Secretary Proffitt, moved to approve the minutes. Steve Funk seconded the motion. The motion passed.

ACTION ITEM STATUS

Alex Wong, CITA, reported that we do have action item from last meeting. Which is to provide the statement of work for the IT consolidation plan RFP for ITEC. It has been included in the meeting packet and we will have a discussion today. We consider this action item closed.

SENATE BILL 291 – CONSULTATION SERVICES

Jeff Maxon presented the IT Consultation Study draft Statement of Work (SOW) for IT Consulting Services for feedback. Committee members discussed and made recommendations. Jeff will finalize the SOW using feedback.

POLICY AND PROCEDURES DISCUSSION

John Godfrey, CISO, presented the following policies for final discussion and new polices were introduced:

- Access Control Policy feedback was provided including the need for exemptions and documentation processes. The policy was approved after addressing concerns regarding education on exemptions.
- Remote Access Security Policy was approved with minor edits.
- Critical Vulnerability Patching Policy the focus was clarified as being on external-facing critical systems. Edits were suggested to ensure clarity on testing and patching procedures. The policy was approved after addressing concerns about the 24-hour patching requirement.
- Domain Name Policy minor edits were made to clarify reporting requirements and the use of third-party systems. The policy was approved with the proposed changes.
- IT Enterprise Security Policy no feedback was received the policy was approved.

The upcoming policies were introduced, and feedback was encouraged on these policies:

- Cloud State Policy
- Configuration Management Policy
- Identification and Authentication Management Policy
- IT Asset Management Policy
- Media Protection Policy
- Mobile Device Policy
- Software Usage Restrictions Policy

Jeff Maxon concluded with a reminder for committee members to provide feedback on the introduced polices. The timeframe to have (SOW) circulated is October 31st.

CLOSING REMARKS

New Action Item Review – Alex Wong, CITA, reported that there were no new action items.

ADJOURNMENT

Adrian Guerrero introduced a motion to adjourn the meeting. Doug Polston seconded the motion.

Adjourned at 2:45 pm.

ITEC BOARD MEMBERS



Jeff Maxon Executive Branch CITO



Doug Polston Regents Representative



Ken Harmon Regents Representative

Keith Scott

KS Criminal Justice



Adam Proffitt Dept of Administration



Amber Shultz Kansas Department of Labor



Adrian Guerrero Kansas Board of Nursing



Lynn Retz Kansas Corporation Commission



Greg Gann Sedgwick County



Mike Mayta City of Wichita



Murray McGee Information Network of Kansas (INK)



Steve Funk Board of Regents



John Berghuis Private Sector Representative

NON-VOTING MEMBERS



Senator J.R. Claeys Senate Representative



Senator Jeff Pittman Senate Representative



Emil Bergquist House Representative



Pam Curtis House Representative



Tom Day Legislative Branch Interim CITO



Anne Madden Johnson Judicial Branch Interim CITO



Alex Wong Office of Technology Services