Executive Branch Information Technology Office of Information Technology Services 2800 SW Topeka Blvd., Building 100 Topeka, KS 66611



Phone: (785) 296-3463 Fax: (785) 296-1168 oits.info@ks.gov

Jeff Maxon, Interim Chief Information Technology Officer

Laura Kelly, Governor

Information Technology Advisory Board (ITAB)

February 21, 2023 1:30pm – 3:00pm Virtual Meeting

Minutes

Opening Welcome & Update

Jeff Maxon, Interim CITO-E

Jeff introduced himself as the Interim Executive Branch CITO following the departure of Secretary DeAngela Burns-Wallace.

Cybersecurity Updates

Jeff Maxon, CISO

- Jeff stated that there has been an uptake and impact on agencies with email compromises. Vendors have been compromised by hackers attempting to change bank routing information. He reminded everyone to double check the source of the information before taking action and engage with the vendor's known contacts only.
- There have been instances of employee spoofing with paychecks being routed to different bank accounts. Jeff recommended that staff take the same steps and to use two-step identity verification to prevent similar fraud attempts.
- Jeff reported that the annual mandatory cybersecurity awareness training has been published for the executive branch for 2023.

Legislative Update

Allie Denning, Director of Public Affairs

- Allie reported OITS budget had passed through without amendments.
- House Bill 2077 the bill grants JCIT the power to advise and consult for reportable IT projects. The bill also Changes the KITO process from the current \$250,000 cost threshold to a risk assessment model. Additionally, the bill updates the Kansas Cybersecurity act that passed out of the House Appropriations Committee with two amendments. One amendment requires entities that receive state of Kansas data or interact with data in our systems that experience a significant cybersecurity incident they are mandated to report that to the Chief Information Security Office. The second amendment gives KISO the ability to set cybersecurity policy and standards for the executive branch.
- House Bill 2388 the bill requires all licensed bodies to provide verified electronic credentials to credential holders and use a centralized electronic credential data management system with instantaneous credential verification.
- Statute for TikTok Ban –the legislature has proposed a statute to ban TikTok use across all state-owned devices.

ITEC Policy Updates

Alex Wong, CITA

- ITEC Policy 1100 & 1500 Terry Clark & Alex Wong presented the draft policy.
- ITEC Policy 9500 Terry Clark & Kevin Howser presented the draft policy.

• Jeff Maxon – stated there are plans to update ITEC Policy 7230 in the future and that he will request a working group be convened.

IT Purchasing, Staffing & Augmentation Contract

Kelly Johnson, IT Procurement Manager

• Kelly discussed the IT Staff Augmentation process and reported that he has looked at these staff augmentation agreements with the legal teams and found that the staff augmentation contract was supposed to bring in temporary help. However, problems occurred when agencies were using these services as a recruitment tool to find full-time staff instead of temporary staff. Therefore, the Office of Procurement is developing an RFP that will address the full-time recruitment needs. To address the immediate needs, they are asking agencies to submit prior authorization as a workaround until the new contracts are in place.

American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA)

Jeff Maxon, Interim CITO-E

• Jeff reported that the Spark Committee has gone through and started allocating ARPA funds. For agencies that have upcoming IT projects, Jeff has asked agencies to contact OITS early in the process to ensure IT resources are available to fulfill the increased demand.

Open Discussion:

No further discussion.

Future ITAB Meetings: May 16, 2023 August 15, 2023 Future ITEC Meetings: June 20, 2023 September 26, 2023

February 21, 2023, ITAB Meeting

ITAB Members: Bold names were present during the meeting.

ADA – Anthony Fadale	KCC – Todd Reinert	KSHS – Megan Burton
BOHA – Susan Gile	KCJIS – David Marshall	KSOS – Kevin Comstock
CISO (Interim CITO) – Jeff Maxon	KDHE – Lane Wiley	KU – Mary Walsh
CITA – Alex Wong	KDHE – Glen Yancey	KSU – Gary Pratt
Commerce – Jim Haugh	KDOC – Melissa Mounts	KUMC – Christ Harper
DCF/KDADS – Laura Howard	KDOE – Kathi Grossenbacher	KWO – Connie Owen
Dept of Ag – Shawn Lane	KDOL – Jeffry Lewis	LCITO – Alan Weiss
DofA – Josh White	KDOR – Andy Sandberg	Leg Services – Tom Day
ESU – Doug Polston	KDOT – Shawn Brown	Lottery – Darren Dreier
FHSU – Mark Griffin	KDWP – Jason Dickson	LPA – Karin Osterhaus
HS-EBIT – Tom Pagano	KGS – Ken Nelson	PSU – Angela Neria
INK – Duncan Friend	KHP – Tom Mai	SG Co IS – Mike Elpers
JCITO – Kelly O'Brien	KID – Vicki Schmidt	Treasurer – Terry
		Dickson
KAG – Col Robert Stinson	KPERS – John Cahill	WSU – Ken Harmon
KBI – Joe Mandala	KRGC – Dennis Bachman	
KBON – Adrian Guerrero	KS School for the Deaf – Joe	
	Oborny	
KBOR Steve Funk	KS Senator – Jeff Pittman	

Other Attendees: (Note: Those joining by telephone were not identified.)

Abraham, Mark – OITS KISO	Hart, Rob – (Guest)	Murray, Julie - KDCU
Adams, James - KSOS	Heffel, Tanya - OITS	McGinley, Chris - KDHE
Baker, Rick - KDOT	Holley, Jamie - OITS	McGinnis, Erin - OITS
Calhoun, Vanessa – (Guest)	Johnson, Shelia – OITS CSO	Moreland, Carol – (Guest)
Clark, Terri - LPA	Johnson, Kelly - DofA	Ramirez, Celena - OITS
Denning, Allie - OITS	Johnston, Diana – (Guest)	Scott, Linda - KID
Gann, Greg – Sedgwick County	Jones, Nolan – (Guest)	Smith, Sash - OITS
Gorman, Andrew – (Guest)	McAferty, Mary - OITS	Spinks, Sara - OITS