Closeup of Capitol building columns

Information Technology Executive Council

The Information Technology Executive Council is responsible for adopting: information technology resource policies, procedures, and project management methodologies for all state agencies; an information technology architecture, including telecommunications systems, networks and equipment, that covers all state agencies; standards for data management for all state agencies; and a strategic information technology management plan for the state. It provides direction and coordination for the application of the state's information technology resources, and designates the ownership of information resource processes and the lead agency for implementation of new technologies and networks shared by multiple agencies in different branches of state government.

The composition of the 17-member committee is available here (K.S.A. 75-7202).


ITEC Members

  • Adam Proffitt, Cabinet Agency Head #1
  • Amber Shultz, Cabinet Agency Head #2
  • Adrian Guerrero, Non-Cabinet Agency Head #1
  • Lynn Retz, Non-Cabinet Agency Head #2
  • Jeff Maxon, Executive Branch CITO 
  • Alan Weis, Legislative Branch CITO
  • Kelly O’Brien, Judicial Branch CITO, Chairman (Chair)
  • Steve Funk, Board of Regents IT Director
  • Mike Mayta, City Representative
  • Greg Gann, County Representative
  • Murray McGee, INK
  • John Berghuis, Private Sector Representative
  • David Marshall, KCJIS
  • J.R. Claeys, Senate Representative #1
  • Jeff Pittman, Senate Representative #2
  • Emil Bergquist, House Representative #1
  • Pam Curtis, House Representative #2



Within ITEC policies are the charters for a number of subcommittees that have been created to serve as additional work groups or subject matter experts in their designated fields. These groups can bring matters to ITEC for review and consideration or ITEC can assign tasks to the subcommittees. Existing Subcommittees include:

Also included is a subcommittee established by Executive Order:

One subcommittee was established in statute:


Meeting Minutes

Scheduled Meetings

Americans with Disabilities Act Statement

The State of Kansas is committed to compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act.  If you need reasonable accommodations, effective communication or alternative formats for the meeting please contact the person or agency holding the meeting above at least five (5) working days in advance to facilitate our effort to meet your reasonable accommodation needs to the maximum extent feasible.  If you have any questions about the ADA, this policy, or concerns about a compliance with the law, please contact our State ADA Coordinator at (785) 296-1389 or



ITEC Chairman

Alan Weis